Posted by adminmpb

Lent 2020 Schedule

What is Ash Wednesday?
Ash Wednesday opens the season of Lent. It takes place 40 days before Easter commemorating the 40 days Jesus spent fasting and praying in the desert. These 40 days between Ash Wednesday and Easter do not include Sundays which are solemnities. The ashes received on Ash Wednesday symbolize the dust from which God made us and remind us of penance and renewal.

Where do the ashes come from?
The ashes used on Ash Wednesday come from the blessed palms from the previous year’s Palm Sunday. On Palm Sunday, the people rejoiced at Jesus’ triumphant entrance to Jerusalem, waving palm fronds. They didn’t realize that he was coming to die for their sins. Using the palms from Palm Sunday reminds us that while we rejoice in and anticipate his coming, we also need to repent for the sins from which he died to save us.

Why do I have to give something up for Lent?
Giving something up for Lent is simply one way to rekindle our soul and reconnect with God. By making a Lenten sacrifice, we are connecting ourselves to the sacrifice that Christ made for us. Aside from giving something up, other practices can be done to bring us closer to Christ and rejuvenate our spirit:
• praying the Stations of the Cross
• praying the Rosary
• making a good confession
• offer forgiveness and prayer
• disconnecting from social media or television
• reading the Bible
• performing the Works of Mercy

The call to Lenten penance is a call to conversion—to a change of heart. It is that change of heart which best prepares us to celebrate the Easter mysteries. This shared season of repentance also points out that we are not alone. We are part of a family of faith and have many companions on our journey to Easter. As we embark on this journey together towards Christ’s resurrection, may we look into our hearts and humbly repent and return to God’s love.

Lent, Fasting, & Abstinence Fasting is to be observed by all 18 years of age and older, who have not yet celebrated their 59th birthday. On a fast day one full meal is allowed. Two other meals, sufficient to maintain strength, may be taken according to each one’s needs, but together they should not equal another full meal. Eating between meals is not permitted, but liquids, including milk and juices, are allowed.

Abstinence is observed by all 14 years of age and older. On days of abstinence, no meat is allowed. Note that when health or ability to work would be seriously affected, the law does not oblige. When in doubt concerning fast and abstinence, the parish priest should be consulted.

Ash Wednesday, February 26th, and Good Friday, April 10th are days of fast and abstinence. All the Fridays of Lent are days of abstinence. Fasting, almsgiving, and prayer are the three traditional disciplines of Lent. The faithful and catechumens should undertake these practices seriously in a spirit of penance and of preparation for baptism or of renewal of baptism at Easter.


 Best Lent Ever 2020

We all know the things that make us happy, but we don’t always do them. Lent is an opportunity to change that. This year we invite you to do something different.

Sign up for Best Lent Ever, a FREE, video-based email program featuring internationally acclaimed speaker and New York Times bestselling author Matthew Kelly. From Ash Wednesday to Easter Sunday, Matthew will help you identify what stands between you and happiness . . . and what to do about it. Are you ready for your best Lent ever?

Stations of the Cross Will take place every Friday evening during Lent, beginning on Friday, March 8th. 


 *We will not have the Stations of the Cross on Friday, February 28th – We invite you to come and see our featured Lenten Speaker – Steve Ray!

Acompáñanos a vivir la pasión de nuestro Señor Jesucristo que se llevara a cabo el día Viernes, 3 de Abril a partir de las 7 PM en el jardín de nuestra parroquia

The Stations of the Cross are a 14-step Catholic devotion that commemorates Jesus Christ’s last day on Earth as a man. The 14 devotions, or stations, focus on specific events of His last day, beginning with His condemnation. The stations are commonly used as a mini pilgrimage as the individual moves from station to station. At each station, the individual recalls and meditates on a specific event from Christ’s last day. Specific prayers are recited, then the individual moves to the next station until all 14 are complete.

The Stations of the Cross are commonly found in churches as a series of 14 small icons or images. They can also appear in church yards arranged along paths. The stations are most commonly prayed during Lent on Wednesdays and Fridays, and especially on Good Friday, the day of the year upon which the events actually occurred.

Via Crucis – Recording April 5th, 2019